January 12, 2018

THE best high school basketball teams from Iloilo City, Negros Occidental and Cebu begin competing in the Dinagyang Mayor’s Cup Battle of the Champions (High School Division) today at the Ledesco gym of Hua Siong College of Iloilo.

Santa Clarita International High School Primes will battle Ateneo de Cebu at 3:15 p.m. while Hua Siong will face Bacolod Tay Tung High School Thunderbolts at 4:45 p.m.

Primes, a two-time Mayor’s Cup champion, will be led by Marvin Cuerbo and Franc Steven Tono, while the newly crowned ILOPRISAA titlist Hua Siong will be banking on Mark Nonoy.

Six-time Nopsscea champion Thunderbolts, on the other hand, will rely on Harold Alarcon and Joel Baquilar, while four-time CESAFI champion Ateneo de Cebu will be led by Michael Jay Cutamora.

Ilonggo sportsman Rodolfo Go Villaruz said he decided to host the pocket tournament to help local basketball players experience a different brand of competition.

“This will serve as one of the culminating tournaments for graduating athletes and a barometer for aspirants who will take over the reign in their respective teams,” Villaruz told Panay News.

“For our local basketball players, they would experience a different brand of basketball in terms of skills and competitiveness as they face the best teams in Visayas,” he added.

Admission to the three-day basketball tournament is free./PN


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here