‘Marathon queen’ Mary Joy Tabal nabs 6th Milo Marathon title

Mary Joy Tabal is in tears after winning her sixth straight Milo Marathon National Finals title. MILO MARATHON

MARY Joy Tabal proved that she remains the country’s “marathon queen” after bagging her sixth straight women’s category title in the 42nd Milo Marathon National Finals on Sunday in Laoag City.

Tabal, a 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympian and 2017 Southeast Asian Games gold medalist, defended the women’s division 42k race title for the fifth straight time after submitting a time of 2:56:31.

“I am dedicating this race and all my other races to my papa,” said Tabal, who had her personal best of 2:47:53 in the 2016 National Finals in Iloilo. “I know he is always there to support even if he is already gone.”

Finishing behind the Cebuana runner were veterans Christabel Martes, who submitted a time of 2:59:29, followed by Christine Hallasgo (3:06:16), Ruffa Sorongon (3:14:22), and Cinderella Soriano (3:15:04).

Completing the top 10 in the women’s category were Maricar Camacho (3:15:10), Mirasol Abad (3:16:41), Luisa Raterta (3:20:48), Sandy Abahan (3:20:49), and Janice Nerza (3:20:54).

Rafael Poliquit, meanwhile, reclaimed the tag as the fastest male runner in the 42k centerpiece, dethroning last year’s champion Joerge Andrade, who failed to land a top 10 finish.

Poliquit had a time of 2:28:47. Following him were Jerald Zabala (2:31:25), Richard Salano (2:33:17), Bacolodnon Jeson Agravante (2:33:42), and Anthony Nerza (2:35:20).

Also in the top 10 of the men’s category were Bryan Quiamco (2:35:21), Keenanlou James Carbunay (2:36:56), Cesar Castaneto Jr. (2:36:59), Joseph Arnel Emia (2:38:14), and Eric Panique (2:38:26)./PN


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here