67 Milo Marathon Iloilo leg runners headed to national finals

SIXTY-SEVEN runners in the Iloilo leg of the 42nd Milo Marathon qualified to the 42-kilometer national finals on Dec. 9 in Laoag City.

Of the total qualifiers, five were given an all-expense paid qualification, Moises Salomon Jr. of the Iloilo City government’s Sports Development Division told Panay News on Wednesday.

Among those who qualified were Cebuano Prince Joey Lee, Rafael Pescos and Ryan Hulleza – the top three finishers in men’s 21k on Sunday at the Iloilo Business Park in Mandurriao, Iloilo City.

Stephanie Cardosale and Alexandra Ganzon, the top two finishers in women’s, were also eligible for the all-expense paid participation to the national finals.

The complete list of the qualified runners was posted on the Facebook page of Panay News.

“We wish them luck in the national finals,” said Salomon. “The competition there will be tough but I know our Ilonggo runners will give their all to keep in step with the tougher runners.”


Iloilo schools made a show with their energetic performances during a cheerdance competition that was part of the marathon’s Iloilo leg.

Mandurriao National High School was the overall champion in the elementary division. First and second runners-up were Feliciana Java Kelly Elementary School and Barrio Obrero Elementary School, respectively.

Iloilo City National High School, meanwhile, was again the overall champion in the secondary division. Western Visayas State University ruled the college division, with University of Iloilo-Phinma as runner-up./PN


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here