Chel Diokno welcomes rise in senatorial survey

MANILA – Otso Diretso senatorial candidate Chel Diokno welcomed his improved ranking in the latest Pulse Asia survey ahead of the May 13, 2019 elections.

Diokno ranked in the 22-27 range in the nationwide survey conducted from Feb. 24 to 28.

He was in the 44-62 range in September 2018 – a month before he filed his certificate of candidacy. His rankings improved to the 26-35 range in December 2018, and rose further to the 24-31 range in January 2019.

Naniniwala akong itong pag-angat ko sa survey ay nagpapakita lang na halos lahat naman ng Pilipino ay hangad ang katarungan,” Diokno said in a statement.

He added: “Gusto nila, patas ang batas para sa lahat. Gusto nila, ‘pag may sala, may parusa, mayaman man o mahirap. At iyan po mismo ang gagawin ko sa Senado.”

According to the survey, 37 percent of registered voters have a complete senatorial slate for the May elections.

The nationwide survey has a sample of 1,800 “likely voters 18 years old and above,” and ± 2.3 percent error margin at 95 percent confidence level.

Reelectionists Grace Poe and Cynthia Villar, meanwhile, remain as leading candidates in the senatorial race, the survey showed.

Poe landed in the top spot with 67.5 percent of the survey votes. Villar followed with 61 percent of the votes.

Administration candidates Christopher “Bong” Go and Ronald dela Rosa posted big gains in the survey.

Go got 53 percent of the votes – from the previous 44.7 percent – allowing him to share the 3-5 range with reelectionist Juan Edgardo Angara.

Dela Rosa also went up from 36.9 percent to 44.6 percent, landing him in the 5-8 range.

Lito Lapid ranked in the 3-7 range while Pia Cayetano, in the 5-7 range.

Mar Roxas – Otso Diretso’s lone candidate in the “Magic 12” – landed in the 8-12 range.

Former senators Ramon “Bong” Revilla Jr. and Jinggoy Estrada also made it to the winning circle, placing 8-13 and 10-15, respectively.

Other senators seeking reelection who made it to the winning circle were Nancy Binay (7-10) and Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III (9-14).

Reelectionist Benigno “Bam” Aquino IV fell out of the winning circle, in the 12-17 range.

Also making it to the list of probable winners were Ilocos Norte governor Imee Marcos (9-14) and former Metropolitan Manila Development Authority chairman Francis Tolentino (11-15). (With ABS-CBN News/PN)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here