All Iloilo LGUs to have waste mgt plans soon

ILOILO – Before this year is over, all local government units (LGUs) here – 42 municipalities and one component city – are expected to have 10-year solid waste management plans.

According to the Provincial Environment and Natural Resources Office (PENRO), the 15 remaining LGUs are expected to submit and defend their proposed plans before the National Solid Waste Management Commission (NSWMC) this month.

The 15 LGUs are San Joaquin, Tigbauan and Guimbal in the 1st District; Leon, Alimodian and San Miguel in the 2nd District; Cabatuan in the 3rd District; San Enrique and Barotac Nuevo in the 4th District; and Carles, Balasan, Estancia, Lemery, Barotac Viejo, and Sara in the5th District.

The deliberation may be held in Boracay Island in Malay, Aklan instead of in Metro Manila, said Mitzi Peñaflorida, senior environmental management specialist of PENRO.

NSWMC would also like to tackle the proposed 10-year solid waste management plans of several LGUs from Antique, Aklan, Capiz, Guimaras, and Negros Occidental, said Peñaflorida.

Just this July 10 to 13, PENRO and the Environmental Management Bureau (EMB) Region 6 critiqued these 15 LGUs’ proposed solid waste management plans in preparation for their NSWMC presentation.

“Nakita naton nga nagtinguha gid sila,” said Peñaflorida.

LGUs are required to have 10-year solid waste management plans approved by the NSWMC.

“Amo ini ang bible or guide kon paano nila i-manage ang ila basura,” said Peñaflorida.

Solid waste management refers to the discipline associated with the control of generation, storage, collection, transfer and transport, processing, and disposal of solid wastes in a manner that is in accord with the best principles of public health, economics, engineering, conservation, aesthetics, and other environmental considerations, and that is also responsive to public attitudes.

The Ecological Solid Waste Management Act of 2000 or Republic Act 9003 prohibits local governments from operating open or controlled dumpsites and mandates them to, among others, establish materials recovery facilities, also known as ecology centers, in every barangay or cluster of barangays to promote waste prevention and reduction in the grassroots level.

A materials recovery facility includes a solid waste transfer station or sorting station, drop-off center, a composting facility, and a recycling facility./PN


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here