Ateneo bags UAAP men’s football title

Members of Ateneo Blue Eagles rejoice after capturing the UAAP Season 81 men’s football crown at the expense of De La Salle University Green Archers at the Rizal Memorial Football Stadium. TIEBREAKER TIMES PHOTO

MANILA – Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles reclaimed the crown in the UAAP Season 81 men’s football with a 2-1 victory over De La Salle University Green Archers at the Rizal Memorial Football Stadium here.

Jarvey Gayoso and Julian Roxas converted a goal each on Thursday night as the Blue Eagles captured its second UAAP men’s football crown in the last three years, and eight championships overall.

The Green Archers looked to end a 21-year championship drought after rookie Mohammad Almohjili opened the account in the 78th minute but Gayoso was able to force an extension with a hit in the stoppage time.

Roxas did not waste time in the first extension as he surged the Blue Eagles ahead at the 100th minute from a pass by Luke Alleje before the Ateneans tightened its defense on the Green Archers.

Gayoso was named the season MVP on top of his fourth straight Best Striker award while AJ Arcilla, who produced key saves for the Eagles in extra time, was named the Best Goalkeeper.

Negrense Shanden Vergara of the Green Archers was named Rookie of the Year while teammates Yoshi Koizumi and Jed Diamante bagged the Best Defender and Best Midfielder awards, respectively.

Meanwhile, De La Salle University Lady Archers topped Far Eastern University Lady Tamaraws, 2-0, for a record 11th UAAP women’s volleyball championship.

After a goalless first half, the Lady Archers went on attack mode as Rocelle Mendaño opened the scoring with a 54th minute header while rookie Shai Del Campo netted her 10th goal of the season with a 79th minute strike that iced the win./PN


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here