Hua Siong leads 18 schools in NBTC-Iloilo

EIGHTEEN Iloilo-based high school basketball teams are set to compete in the Iloilo qualifying leg of the National Basketball Training Center (NBTC), which will start on Jan. 6.

Tournament director Joe-an Tenorio told Panay News that the squads were divided into four groups, with two brackets consisting of five schools and the other two with four teams each.

Defending leg champions Iloilo Red Phoenix of Hua Siong College banners the Group A along with PAREF-Westbridge, Iloilo Doctors College and Santa Isabel College of Iloilo.

In Group B, meanwhile, were last year’s runner-up Santa Clarita International School Primes, St. Robert’s International Academy Panda Rockets, Ateneo de Iloilo, St. Paul University Iloilo, and Mandurriao National High School.

Teams in Group C include CenterPhil Montessori Silver Knights, Central Philippine University Golden Lions, Sun Yat Sen High School, and Assumption School-Passi City.

In Group D, on the other hand, were John B. Lacson Foundation Maritime University, Iloilo National High School, University of San Agustin, and FAST.

The champion in the Iloilo leg will advance to the NBTC Regionals along with qualifiers from Capiz and Guimaras, where a slot into the National Finals in Manila is at stake./PN


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here