Iloilo spikers nab crown in Binalbagan volley league

TEAM HBN Binalbagan-Iloilo captured the championship in the Binalbagan Christmas Volleyball League 2018 Men’s Open after a 25-21, 25-23, 25-21 sweep over Team Silay on Friday night at the Binalbagan Covered Court.

Led by tournament MVP awardee Ian Gallofin, the Ilonggos stamped its class on the Negrenses from start to finish to clinch the crown in the two-day tournament participated by five teams.

Both teams went toe to toe early in each of the three sets but Ilonggos showed composure in the end to finish each sets with slim win over Silay, which was led by Best Attacker awardee Jet Nonoy.

On their way to the championship round, the Team HBN Binalbagan-Iloilo edged University of St. La Salle-Bacolod, while Team Silay dominated Team Yanja Pulunpandan.

Meanwhile, University of St. La Salle-Bacolod was able to salvage a bronze medal finish after defeating Team Yanja Pulupandan in the battle-for-third place game.

For winning the tournament, Team HBN Binalbagan-Iloilo received the top prize of P30,000, while Team Silay had P20,000 and USLS-Bacolod and Team Yanja had P10,000 and P5,000, respectively.

The volleyball tournament was organized by the Municipality of Binalbagan with help of mayor Emmanuel Aranda./PN


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here