Ilonggas lead PH women’s volley team in SEA Games

Ilonggas Abigail Marano and Jovelyn Gonzaga
Ilonggas Abigail Marano and Jovelyn Gonzaga

MANILA – Ilonggas Abigail Marano and Jovelyn Gonzaga will spearhead the Philippine women’s volleyball team that will compete in the 2019 Southeast Asian Games from Nov. 28 to Dec. 11 here.

Marano who is from Passi City and Gonzaga who hails from Guimaras were among the 14 names submitted by the Larong Vollleyball sa Pilipinas Inc. (LVPI) on Wednesday.

Also named as part of the squad were Alyssa Valdez, Rhea Dimaculangan, Julia Morado, Frances Molina, Mika Reyes, Dawn Macandili, Kalei Mau, Ejiya Laure, Madeleine Madayag, Kath Arado, Mary Joy Baron, and Mylene Paat.

The Ceseal delos Santos-mentored national women’s volleyball team is hoping to end the country’s 14-year medal drought in the regional meet.

The last time the Philippines won a medal in the SEA Games was when the team led by Cristina Salak and Ging Balse-Pabayo under head coach Ramil De Jesus placed third in the Manila SEA Games in 2005.

As part of SEA Games preparation, the team will leave for Tokyo in the third week of October for their final overseas training before seeing action in the Philippine Superliga Super Cup in November./PN


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here