PH women’s volley team to compete in Super Cup

MANILA – The national women’s volleyball team are set to be tested when it competes in the Philippine Superliga (PSL) Super Cup starting today at the Filoil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

The Nationals will be clashing with three other teams in a mini-tournament that aims to test their cohesiveness and readiness for the 30th Southeast Asian Games slated later this year here.

Aside from the league’s two selection squads in Team Sparkle and Team Shine, the women’s volleyball team of Tsukuba University will also challenge the Nationals in this short tourney.

“We organized this tournament to help the national team in its preparation for the Southeast Asian Games,” said PSL chairman Philip Ella Juico.

He added: “This tournament will be a perfect venue to gauge where they are right now and use the lessons they gained in their 12-day training in Japan in actual situation. We’re looking forward to a successful staging of the tournament and a competitive performance from our national team.”

Team captain Abigail Maraño will be at the forefront of the national team’s attack as well as Kalei Mau, Dawn Macandili, Mary Joy Baron, Mika Reyes, Frances Molina, Rhea Dimaculangan, Mylene Paat, Jovelyn Gonzaga, Kat Arado, and Eya Laure.

Aiza Maizo-Pontillas will banner Team Shine together with fellow Ilonggas Ria Duremdes, Fiola Ceballos and Fritz Gallenero, Negrenses Patty Orendain and Christine Soyud, Denden Lazaro, MJ Philips, Remy Palma, Ria Meneses, Mean Mendrez. Bia General, Amanda Villanueva, Rebecca Rivera, Des Clemente, and Alex Cabanos.

Meanwhile, Alohi Robins-Hardy will spearhead the attack of Team Sparkle together with Roselyn Doria, Ranya Musa, May Luna, EJ Laure, Jen Reyes, Mina Aganon, Elaine Kasilag, Gretchel Soltones, Jerilli Malabanan, Jasmine Nabor, Alyssa Eroa, Judith Abil, Caitlyn Viray, Dimdim Pacres, and Nica Guliman./PN


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here